And that’s a wrap folks! 

The year has come to an end which means my Big Birding Year has come to an end. The last couple of weeks were pretty hectic with all the birding outings and trying to get in as many birds as I could!


I have had so much fun this year with this challenge. I set out on the 1 January 2016 to see how many bird species I could see in a year, to make the effort to go on more birding trips and travel to new places, and to learn more about the birds I find.  I reckon I have successfully done all of that! 


I have seen 343 bird species! 

134 of those were Lifers! 


Travelled through all 9 provinces, although only birding in 7 of them. 

Visited many new, never heard of before birding locations. 


Seen birds that I never thought I would see. 

Seen birds that I’ve never even heard of. 


Been on 3 twitches to see rarities. 

Learn’t some bird calls. 


Learn’t the differences between some tricky raptors. 

Learn’t the differences between some tricky waders. 


And discovered a huge birding community within South Africa. 

It has been amazing!!! 


I must also Thank everyone who has supported me during this year and put up with all my bird talk and bird outings! 

A big Thanks to my folks who have joined me on many of these trips.  Thanks for finding me a bunch of these birds, I would have missed them otherwise! 

Here’s to 2017 and all the birding adventures that await! (Just not quite as intensely!) 

xxx 

2 thoughts on “And that’s a wrap folks! 

Leave a Reply

