Hello and Happy New Year

IMG_0969

I want to feel the excitement I felt when I saw this bird for the first time, almost a year ago to the day, but have never seen again since.  Great Spotted Cuckoo – Bakgatla Camp,   Pilanesberg 2015.

So here I go again, trying to do (start) a blog.

I really hope that this one will stick and that I can keep at it for the whole entire year, since that is what it will be about…..My year of birding!

The basic idea is to document all the birding adventures I go on this year and then to calculate how many bird species I have seen in 2016.  I’m not going to be just ticking off birds as I see them, thats not what I’m about.  I want to see how many bird species I, as an enthusiastic birder but not completely clued up on birds, actually see (or hear) in my average year of nature outings.  I hope to see lots of birds but also to learn more about them, learn how to photograph them better and learn some more calls.

I’ll be bird watching at home in our garden and in Johannesburg while I’m driving around, but the majority of it will be done on my travels to various game and nature reserves, as well as other parts of the country such as Kwa-Zulu Natal and the Western Cape.

I hope that this blog will encourage me to get out more over weekends and take me to birding spots that I’ve never been to before.

Here’s to a wonderful, amazing, and educational year of birding 2016!

 

 

Leave a Reply

